This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Germany

Germany is made up of 16 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Germany. Information on all primary administrative regions in Germany.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Germany alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Germany

There are 16 regions in Germany in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Germany
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Berlin Land Berlin1.3,442,675Berlin Berlin3,426,354
Hamburg Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg2.1,774,224Hamburg Hamburg1,739,117
Bavaria Bavaria3.12,510,331Munich Munich1,260,391
Baden-Wuerttemberg Baden-Württemberg Region4.10,744,921Stuttgart Stuttgart589,793
North Rhine-Westphalia Nordrhein-Westfalen5.17,872,763Duesseldorf Düsseldorf573,057
Bremen Bremen6.661,716Bremen Bremen546,501
Lower Saxony Lower Saxony7.7,928,815Hannover Hannover515,140
Saxony Saxony8.4,168,732Dresden Dresden486,854
Hesse Hessen9.6,061,951Wiesbaden Wiesbaden272,432
Schleswig-Holstein Schleswig-Holstein10.2,832,027Kiel Kiel232,758
Saxony-Anhalt Saxony-Anhalt11.2,356,219Magdeburg Magdeburg229,826
Thuringia Thuringia12.2,249,882Erfurt Erfurt203,254
Rheinland-Pfalz Rheinland-Pfalz13.4,012,675Mainz Mainz184,997
Saarland Saarland14.1,022,585Saarbruecken Saarbrücken181,227
Brandenburg Brandenburg15.2,511,525Potsdam Potsdam145,292
Mecklenburg-Vorpommern Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania16.1,651,216Schwerin Schwerin96,641