This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Germany

Germany is made up of 16 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Germany. Information on all primary administrative regions in Germany.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Germany alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Germany

There are 16 regions in Germany in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Germany
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
North Rhine-Westphalia Nordrhein-Westfalen1.17,872,763Duesseldorf Düsseldorf573,057
Bavaria Bavaria2.12,510,331Munich Munich1,260,391
Baden-Wuerttemberg Baden-Württemberg Region3.10,744,921Stuttgart Stuttgart589,793
Lower Saxony Lower Saxony4.7,928,815Hannover Hannover515,140
Hesse Hessen5.6,061,951Wiesbaden Wiesbaden272,432
Saxony Saxony6.4,168,732Dresden Dresden486,854
Rheinland-Pfalz Rheinland-Pfalz7.4,012,675Mainz Mainz184,997
Berlin Land Berlin8.3,442,675Berlin Berlin3,426,354
Schleswig-Holstein Schleswig-Holstein9.2,832,027Kiel Kiel232,758
Brandenburg Brandenburg10.2,511,525Potsdam Potsdam145,292
Saxony-Anhalt Saxony-Anhalt11.2,356,219Magdeburg Magdeburg229,826
Thuringia Thuringia12.2,249,882Erfurt Erfurt203,254
Hamburg Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg13.1,774,224Hamburg Hamburg1,739,117
Mecklenburg-Vorpommern Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania14.1,651,216Schwerin Schwerin96,641
Saarland Saarland15.1,022,585Saarbruecken Saarbrücken181,227
Bremen Bremen16.661,716Bremen Bremen546,501